Sulayman Bowles
Back to writing

Private equity

Where the 2020–2022 software buyouts stand

None of 25 selected software take-privates had a clean sponsor exit by August 17, 2026, though investors can still get cash back through continuation funds.

Monochrome generative point study “Parity Bloom,” a mathematical form rendered in black and white.

None of 25 selected software take-privates had produced a clean sponsor-control exit by August 17, 2026. I wouldn’t read that as zero cash returned to investors. An LP can sell into a continuation fund while the sponsor keeps the company, so control and realization can move on different clocks.

The $171.2 billion of mixed announcement values shows transaction scale, not sponsor equity invested. To judge the boom’s returns, I’d follow each original fund’s capital account alongside the company’s ownership. The control inventory supplies only the second of those records.

Method & limits

The 25 classifications, mixed $171.2 billion headline total and August 17, 2026 cutoff are unchanged. Sources checked October 25, 2026: the public-package methodology, SailPoint’s April proxy, and ILPA’s explanation of continuation-fund investor choices. The 2023 ILPA document supplies the transaction mechanics. Its 2026 successor is noted in the source for current guidance. Davis Polk’s previously verified Pluralsight completion evidence could not be reopened for the October 25, 2026 source check. The underlying transaction ledger and sponsor/fund cash flows remain unavailable; no full-cohort reclassification, MOIC, IRR, DPI or impairment estimate is made.

The $171.2 billion headline isn’t an equity account

The announced purchase price is an awkward denominator for an investor’s return. Enterprise value includes a claim on the operating business before allocating it between debt and equity; an equity-value announcement starts elsewhere. Neither says how much a particular sponsor fund contributed after acquisition financing, co-investment and subsequent funding. Adding the mixed headlines produces a measure of transaction scale, not a pool of equity whose recovery can be calculated.

The same discipline applies on the way out. A company can raise new debt without distributing the money, distribute borrowed cash while its sponsor keeps the shares, or sell a minority stake that belongs to one fund rather than another. To judge capital recovery, the account must follow the investor who paid in, the investor who received cash and the claim that remains.

Measurement boundaries used in the software buyout cohort audit
MeasureWhat it answersWhat it does not answer
Headline transaction valueHow large the announced deal was under the company’s stated definitionSponsor equity invested, debt funded, or current value
Current controlWho could direct the company at the evidence cutoffWhether the controlling investor made or lost money
Ownership eventWhether an IPO, stake sale, refinancing, dividend, continuation transfer, or creditor transfer occurredWhether the original sponsor fully realized its position
Fund returnMOIC, IRR, DPI, and loss ratio after all cash flows and marksNot observable from transaction announcements alone

Twenty-five deals at the cutoff

The table reproduces the downloadable cohort’s 25 classifications at August 17, 2026. This bounded inventory covers large announced take-privates. It cannot represent the whole software private-equity market. Headline values remain in billions of U.S. dollars under their mixed announcement conventions. A row describes the supported control category; it does not rank the quality of the business or the sponsor’s return.

RealPage
Pluralsight
Endurance International Group
Proofpoint
McAfee
Inovalon
Mimecast
Cloudera
Stamps.com / Auctane
Medallia
Cornerstone OnDemand
Bottomline Technologies
QAD
Talend
CoreLogic / Cotality
Citrix Systems
Zendesk
Coupa Software
Anaplan
SailPoint
Avalara
CDK Global
KnowBe4
Ping Identity
ForgeRock
  • 23continuing sponsor ownership
  • 1completed creditor transfer
  • 1partial liquidity
One mark per cohort record at August 17, 2026. Ownership events do not measure sponsor returns.
Published cohort classifications at August 17, 2026. Source: the downloadable row-level cohort; mixed headline value definitions, USD billions.
CompanyAnnouncement yearHeadline value (USD bn)Sponsor groupOutcome categoryControl at the cutoffClassification note
RealPage202010.2Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesHeadline transaction value
Pluralsight20203.5Vista Equity Partnerscompleted creditor transferLenders became owners through restructuringControl transfer is not a sponsor realization
Endurance International Group20203.0Clearlake Capital; Siris Capitalcontinuing sponsor ownershipOperates as Newfold Digital under sponsor ownershipRebranding does not change control classification
Proofpoint202112.3Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
McAfee202114.0Advent International-led investor groupcontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor consortium control continuesControl-exit classification excludes liquidity and refinancing alone.
Inovalon20217.3Nordic Capital; Insight Partners-led groupcontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor group remains in controlAdded after cohort verification correction
Mimecast20215.8Permiracontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
Cloudera20215.3KKR; Clayton Dubilier & Ricecontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesDebt and dividend events leave realization unresolved
Stamps.com / Auctane20216.6Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; operates as Auctane under sponsor ownershipName change does not change classification
Medallia20216.4Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate at cutoff; sponsor and creditor developments have their own classificationsPublic evidence leaves the sponsor return unresolved
Cornerstone OnDemand20215.2Clearlake Capitalcontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
Bottomline Technologies20212.6Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
QAD20212.0Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
Talend20212.4Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipCombined with other sponsor-controlled software assetsCombination is not a clean sponsor realization
CoreLogic / Cotality20215.9Stone Point Capital; Insight Partnerscontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor ownership continues after rebrandValue follows cohort headline convention
Citrix Systems202216.5Vista Equity Partners; Evergreen Coast Capitalcontinuing sponsor ownershipOperates within Cloud Software Group; original sponsor control not shown as fully realizedDebt restructuring is not automatically an equity exit
Zendesk202210.2Hellman & Friedman; Permiracontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor consortium control continuesNo clean control exit identified
Coupa Software20228.0Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
Anaplan202210.7Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesUses announced headline value; final terms discussed in report
SailPoint20226.9Thoma Bravopartial liquidityPublic listing completed but sponsor retained voting control at cutoffIPO is a route to exit not a completed control exit
Avalara20228.4Vista Equity Partnerscontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesNo clean control exit identified
CDK Global20228.3Brookfield Business Partnerscontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesOperational events do not determine sponsor return
KnowBe420224.6Vista Equity Partnerscontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; sponsor control continuesSecondary or continuation liquidity has its own classification
Ping Identity20222.8Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipPrivate; combined with ForgeRock under sponsor controlCombination does not remove sponsor control
ForgeRock20222.3Thoma Bravocontinuing sponsor ownershipMerged into Ping Identity under sponsor controlRegulatory close and integration are not sponsor realization

The company can stay while its investors change

The test requires a completed transfer removing the original sponsor group’s control. A listing, minority sale, refinancing, dividend, or continuation transaction can return money while that control survives. A creditor takeover can do the opposite: remove control without paying the former equity.

In a continuation transaction, an existing LP can sell for cash while another investor or a rolling LP holds the company through the manager’s new vehicle, so the original investor can realize its position even as the same sponsor continues directing the operating business under the audit’s unchanged control test. The zero clean-exit count can’t measure that cash. ILPA’s description covers selling, rolling, and combining the two.

This is also the strongest defense of continued ownership. A sponsor may rationally keep a business whose next increment of value exceeds the price available today, while offering liquidity to investors with different horizons. The defense weakens if the transfer price is untested or the transaction primarily renews fees. ILPA identifies the conflict created when the GP sits on both sides and calls for competitive pricing and informed investor choice. A continuation label alone cannot distinguish patient ownership from a transaction that serves the manager better than its investors.

SailPoint listed, and Pluralsight went to creditors

The hierarchy is deliberately about control: full realization first, partial liquidity next, creditor transfers separately, then continuing sponsor ownership when no stronger classification is supported. It should be read consistently even when a headline uses “exit.” A change in who can direct the business and a change in who has received cash need not happen together.

SailPoint makes the first distinction visible. A public quotation creates a market price and a possible route to sell shares. Its April 2026 proxy nevertheless states that Thoma Bravo controls a majority of the common stock and describes the resulting controlled-company status. That is direct governance evidence for the method, although a single proxy does not by itself verify the entire cohort at the later cutoff.

Pluralsight’s August 28, 2024 announcement set out the lender group’s agreement to own 100% of the company. Davis Polk, the lenders’ legal adviser, reported on August 30, 2024 that the recapitalization had been completed that month. That completion statement supports the table’s “completed creditor transfer” classification at the August 17, 2026 cutoff. It confirms a control change; it does not disclose Vista’s proceeds or support a sponsor-return calculation.

An unfinished observation is not an eventual loss

An unexited deal at the cutoff is an unfinished observation. The audit tells us that a qualifying exit had not been observed by that date; it cannot tell us when one will occur or at what value. Announcement years also give only an approximation of time in ownership, because an acquisition begins operating under its new owner at completion.

A median holding period among deals that have exited would not solve this problem. It describes the completed exits, leaving the still-held companies outside that statistic. Using it as a deadline would turn a selected group of observed outcomes into a rule for the unresolved investments. The better extension follows each deal from completion and records both qualifying exits and the time for which each remaining investment has been observed.

Waiting is neither vindication nor proof of impairment. A later sale can recover value; meanwhile, additional equity, interest, dilution and the opportunity cost of elapsed time can make the original investment less attractive. The question is whether the expected value of keeping the company justifies that additional exposure. The control table does not contain the operating forecasts, financing terms or cash history needed to answer it.

The cash flows needed for a return calculation

To move from this audit to a fund-return study, each company needs a dated capital account for each investing vehicle: equity contributions, follow-on and add-on funding, dividends, partial-sale proceeds, continuation proceeds and a comparable value for the remaining claim after debt, fees and dilution. A distribution to a co-investor is not automatically a distribution to the main fund; cash recovered by one vintage cannot be assigned to another merely because the sponsor name is the same.

The downloadable classification, claim ledger, methodology, and summary explain the published decisions. The underlying transaction source ledger and fund cash flows are missing, so they don’t permit an independent reconstruction of every row or a fund-return calculation. The two primary examples explain how the method works.

The same discipline applies outside software: the Austin home-service ownership census traces brands through operating parents and investors, leaving unresolved links visible.

The investor’s capital account decides the return

I’d use the control table as a map of continuing ownership, then follow the original funds’ cash. Control can remain after an LP has been paid and disappear after equity has been lost. The clean-exit count describes the companies’ control history. The capital account would decide whether the boom rewarded its investors.

Sources

  1. Software buyout cohort row-level classificationVerified Aug 17, 2026
  2. Software buyout cohort claim ledgerVerified Aug 17, 2026
  3. Software buyout cohort methodologyVerified Aug 17, 2026
  4. Software buyout cohort machine-readable summaryVerified Aug 17, 2026
  5. SailPoint April 2026 proxy: sponsor governance after IPOVerified Oct 16, 2026

    Primary method example; not a later full-cohort reclassification.

  6. Pluralsight August 2024 recapitalization agreementVerified Oct 16, 2026

    Company announcement describes recapitalization and lender ownership; it does not disclose the original sponsor’s proceeds or return.

  7. Davis Polk August 30, 2024 recapitalization completion reportVerified Oct 23, 2026

    Counsel to the administrative agent and first-lien lenders confirms completion in August 2024. This supports the creditor-transfer classification before the August 17, 2026 cutoff; the exact closing day and Vista’s proceeds remain undisclosed.

  8. Continuation Funds: Considerations for Limited Partners and General Partners (May 2023)Institutional Limited Partners Association · 2023-05Verified Oct 25, 2026

    Pages 3–5 explain selling, rolling and GP conflicts; pricing and disclosure recommendations frame the countercase. This historical document has been superseded by ILPA’s 2026 guidance (https://ilpa.org/industry-guidance/principles-best-practices/continuation-vehicles/). It is used here for the structure of investor liquidity, not as current legal or transaction guidance. It does not verify any cohort transaction or its price.

Supporting material

Read next